Douglas Royals are the 2019 CCAA Curling Canada Women's Champions

Douglas Royals are the 2019 CCAA Curling Canada Women's Champions

The Douglas Royals are the 2019 CCAA Curling Canada Women's Champions following a 7-5 victory over the MacEwan Griffins.

The Royals were the story of the tournament, as the team had only been playing together a short time before the event began. Douglas' championship got off to a rough start with two tough losses on day one, but they got their game together and put together impressive performances the rest of the way.

In the gold medal game, the teams took turns winning ends and the match was tied 3-3 after the sixth. The Royals scored one in the seventh end and another three in the eighth to take a 7-3 lead over the Griffins with only two to play. MacEwan answered right back with two in the ninth but Douglas kept the house clean in the 10th to claim the women's title. Patty Wallingham curled 78% for the champion Royals while Erin Wells led MacEwen, curling 83%.

On the bronze side of the bracket, the Fanshawe Falcons faced the Augustana Vikings. The match was a conservative affair with Fanshawe holding a 3-2 lead on the Augustana Vikings entering the ninth end. Augustana scored two in the ninth to move ahead but Fanshawe grabbed countered with one in the tenth end to force an extra end. With the bronze medal on the line Augustana used the hammer to score one in the 11th and win the match 5-4. The Vikings were led by Hanna Terry led (85%), Katelyn Skolski (80%) and Sara Paulgaard (80%) while Lauren Massey (82%) and Kaitlyn Poirier (79%) curled well for the Falcons.

The Awards Banquet was held later in the evening where several individuals were recognized for the achievements at the Championship. The list of 2019 CCAA Curling Canada Championship Award Winners includes:

Final Standings

 Douglas Royals 
 MacEwan Griffins
  Augustana Vikings

First Team All-Stars

Lead: Katelyn Skolski - Augustana
Second: Andie Kurjata - MacEwan
Third: Erin Wells - MacEwan
Skip: Ashton Simard - MacEwan

Second Team All-Stars

Lead: Tegan Stride - Holland
Second: Madison Graham - NAIT
Third: Patty Wallingham – Douglas
Skip: Kaitlyn Poirier - Fanshawe

CCAA Fair Play Award

 Paige Droog - Fleming

Curling Canada Coaching Award

 Barry Westman - Fanshawe